Get our weekly newsletter. »
Unsubscribe at anytime. Don't worry about your email getting into the wrong hands. We won't sell or share it with anyone.
This is an odd question, but I have several people over for Thanksgiving who are gluten-intolerant and I was wondering if the fermentation process of soy-sauce (which contains wheat in the ingredients) breaks down the gluten. I understand that there are wheat-free tamari soy sauces and other umami-laden alternatives that I could use, but this question has been in the back of my mind for a long time. Thank you Kenji for any insight you may be able to share on this. The only thing my research has turned up was a study funded by Kikkoman, which made me a little dubious.
I made Kenji's char-siu for my dad's birthday this past weekend. As per Kenji's advice, I took the blowtorch (I call him Charmander) to nuke the slices. Mmmmmm, smoky-tender, crispy-melty meat. There was also a marinated kale salad and sauteed greens on the side, just in case someone was feeling omnivorous that night.
I would make burgers for my mom!
Same thing, I pre-ordered a few days ago. Do we still get a bag?
I imagine chefs using whatever ingredients are leftover and not reserved for service later in the day, to avoid having to throw things away.
Waldo hasn't written a post yet.
Waldo hasn't favorited a post yet.