You may know that mincemeat—the main ingredient in rich, buttery mince pies—is not actually made with meat, but it isn't necessarily vegetarian, either. So what exactly is this Christmastime staple?
Explore by Tags
Entries tagged with 'mincemeat'
While almost everyone's heard of mincemeat pie, few people actually consume it regularly or even annually. I've crossed paths with various forms of it on more than one occasion, but these encounters were far from memorable. This week, I delved into the world of mince pies, hoping to finally get a taste of what has kept them relevant for so many years. This pie, though, enriched with bacon and bacon fat, is not the traditional mincemeat born in 13th century England.
Lacking the acquired taste for mince pies, both the beefy suet and vegetarian versions, I decided to try substituting bacon. In my quest to appreciate mince pies, the results were the most pleasing so far, and will definitely be enjoyed by traditional mince pie lovers looking to try something new.