I'm a carnivore who doesn't drink very much wine so it never really occurred to me that wine could be vegetarian or vegan, but it turns out that the majority of wines are fined (clarified, softened or stabilised) with clay, milk or egg products like casein or albumen, which are vegetarian but not vegan; some wines are fined with gelatin or products made from fish and shellfish and are not vegetarian at all. The Observer's Tim Atkins picks out twelve solid vegetarian wines so you can stick to your diet without compromising your tastebuds, and if you can't find them at your local shops the Vegan Wine Guide lists where to best order wines online in the US and UK.
Serious Eats Newsletters
Popular on Serious Eats
- Dinner in 20: For the Best Fried Chicken Cutlets, Use Clarified Butter
- What "Selling Out" Allows a Craft Brewery to Do
- Seekh Kebabs: The Grilled, Spiced Pakistani Meat-on-a-Stick of Your Dreams
- Video: Use Your Cast Iron Pan and a Tortilla for Extra-Crispy Pizza in Just 12 Minutes
- Special Sauce: Dinosaur BBQ's John Stage on His Unlikely Path to Pitmaster